Home » Sports and Politics

Russia's Olympic Hockey Team Announced

28. December 2009 by Michelle 0 Comments

Early Christmas morning, the names of 23 lucky men were announced as teammates of Russia’s 2010 Olympic ice hockey team. Eight of them are from the KHL, while the rest play for the NHL in the U.S. and Canada.


Here is the full roster:


Goaltenders: Ilya Bryzgalov (Phoenix), Semen Varlamov (Washington), Evgeny Nabokov (San Jose);


Defenders: Anton Volchenkov (Ottawa), Sergey Gonchar (Pittsburgh), Denis Grebeshkov (Edmonton), Dmitry Kalinin (Salavat Yulaev, KHL), Konstantin Korneev (CSKA Moscow, KHL), Andrey Markov (Montreal), Ilya Nikulin (Ak Bars, KHL), Fedor Tyutin (Columbus);


Forwards: Maksim Afinogenov, Ilya Kovalchuk (both – Atlanta), Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit), Danis Zaripov, Alexey Morozov (both – Ak Bars, KHL), Sergei Zinoviev, Viktor Kozlov, Alexander Radulov (all – Salavat Yulaev, KHL), Evgeni Malkin (Pittsburgh), Alexander Ovechkin, Alexander Semin (both – Washington), Sergey Fedorov (Metallurg Magnitogorsk, KHL).


The Russian hockey community is very pleased with the choices.


“The lineup is perfect! A very clever and right choice. I have no questions to the coaches. The defenders are high-class and able to shoot well. Everything is obvious in the attack – all the top players are there,” said sports commentator Segrey Gimaev.