Home » Random Stuff

Several Time Changes in Russia on Sunday

26. March 2010 by Michelle 0 Comments

The first observance of Daylight Savings Time in Russia occurred in July of 1917 by a decree of the Russian Provisional Government and clocks were moved forward one hour. However, the time change was abandoned just five months later by the Soviet Government and the clocks were set one hour back again.


In April of 1981, Daylight Savings Time was reinstated by the Council of Ministers of the USSR and continues today, although the practice of shifting the clocks may not last much longer. Russian President Dmitry Medvedev suggested reducing the number of time zones across Russia from 11 to 9, saying the time differences have a negative impact on the country’s efficiency and require the use of expensive technology. Prime Minister Vladimir Putin enacted the change and it will take effect on Sunday.


The two time zones slated for elimination are Moscow time plus one hour, which contains the Udmurt Republic and Samara region, and Moscow time plus nine hours, composed of the Kamchatka and Chukotka regions. These 4 regions will not be adjusting their clocks in accordance with this change. The Udmurt Republic and Samara region will be in the same time zone as Moscow, and the far eastern Kamchatka and Chukotka regions will join the time zone of the Magadan Oblast.


In addition, a proposal, titled “On the Transition of Russia to Standard Time”, aims to completely abolish Daylight Savings Time. The bill has received strong support from the Moscow City Duma and the Federation Council Committee on Industrial Policy and continues to move forward through the approval process. Proponets of the proposal claim that people’s biorhythms are significantly distorted due to the time change, and the energy saving benefit is not needed.


For now, most Russians will observe Daylight Savings Time, while others are preparing to adapt to a different time zone.