Home » Sports and Politics

World Cup Qualifying Playoffs Set for Russia and Ukraine

20. October 2009 by James 0 Comments

Both Russia and Ukraine now know who they will have to beat in order to play in South Africa next year.


On Friday, at FIFA headquarters in Zurich, FIFA Secretary General Jerome Valcke and South African football star Steven Pienaar drew the names of the 8 nations in the European Zone.  Russia will battle Slovenia, and Ukraine will take on Greece in the home and away series playoff on November 14 and 18. The other games will feature France and the Republic of Ireland, and Portugal and Bosnia-Herzegovina.


Russia will host Slovenia in the first game, while Ukraine will travel to Greece.


The top four nations in the draw were seeded according to the latest edition of the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking. France (9), Portugal (10), Russia (12) and Greece (16) were placed in Pot 1 and were drawn with the teams in Pot 2, Ukraine (22), Republic of Ireland (34), Bosnia Herzegovina (42) and Slovenia (49).


The team scoring more goals in both games wins the play-off. If there is a tie, the away goals count double. If the teams tied on away goals, or if both matches end scoreless, extra-time of two periods of 15 minutes each will be played at the end of the second match. If the score is still tied after extra time, penalty kicks will be taken to determine the winner.


The four winning teams will join other nations such as Brazil, England, the United States, Argentina, Spain, and Italy, to make up the 32 national teams that will contest for the 2010 World Cup in South Africa.